Book Update 3 and the “HOLY CRAP I MESSED UP THE STRUCTURE OF MY NOVEL AND NOW I HAVE TO FIX EVERYTHING” post

screen_shot_2015-05-12_at_3-31-31_pm

Good news: I’m over 40 000 words into the novel, the outlining for the plot is done, characters solidified and path foreseen.

Bad News: I have to redo everything.

So up until now I have done a bunch of discovery writing. unfortunately, while this has made me a stronger author, it has also given the beginning of the novel a feel of no purpose. Now that I can see the road ahead of Kayden I need to look at the beginning of the book and restructure.

When I sat down to write this book I wanted something “Grand” that would span a few novels but this made a plethora of information dumped and plot for the next 4 books … and not this one.

I will not despair because the Writing Excuses podcast has saved me along with some ingenuity of my own. Let’s go through our options when restructuring the first bit of the novel.

  1. Include the promises we need to make to make the ending fit: my novel seems to be taking a military route in this first book. In early chapters I focused on magic, a romantic interest, swordplay and the occupation of a country that is not relevant to the rest of the book. I need to discuss the conflict in Kronenpelle at the beginning of the novel if I’m going to focus on it! I need to mention the Vipers if they are going to be main characters! The lore I have front loaded the novel with can be spread over the story. It won’t come into play until book 2 anyways.
  2. Include more magic shit. (because it’s awesome, duh)
  3. Rearange chronological order. Spread out the non-essential stuff
  4. Geographically shift places closer together. cut these travel scenes down.
  5. The prologue on earth? Maybe throw it at the end of the novel. Or in the next one.
  6. Move romantic interest arc to be a more balanced story.

 

Goodluck fixing your discovery writing.

 

There has been an absolute silence on this blog because of my crazy insane life where i am graduating business school, starting a novel/lyric youtube community (links to come soon) and overall putting effort into writing but now that summer is around and I am trying (I promise) to write more maybe I’ll pop in here but

-AP

Leave a Reply

