Travel and Writing

evergreen-forest

 
This weekend I had the opportunity to travel a little with some friends and it offered a refreshing look at directions I could take my writing. Many of us often travel by plane or car very far distances and it allows a phenomenon to occur that tricks out minds into not accepting the distance traveled. We pack into a box for an hour and emerge in a land that would have taken months to arrive to by more traditional means. When we emerge our senses take on an entirely new surroundings, and we become hyper aware of the differences and wonder of our new environment. We need to give this feeling of euphoric emerson to our readers as we paint the picture of settings, jump to a new character’s perspective and feed them the skeleton of the environment in a way that reflects the mood.

The actual how of this is most likely told better by a more practiced author than myself but I realized this weekend that this wanderlust is an important part of fiction. The characters having cultures and lore of the land are elements that we find in real travel to be interesting. History buffs and world building are immediately linked, this is the element of fiction that some criticize books like LOTR for. Just as we thirst for knowledge and history in the crevices of a new city we need to feel similar as we enter stories of far off lands.
I picked up a hiking magazine and read it on my first connecting flight home and truly enjoyed it: the photos remind me of the possibilities of reality and by extension: fiction. I hope to travel more in the future and I feel I will grow every time and I thought perhaps my fellow writers could use a reminder to appreciate the act of writing through experience as well as imagination. The two need to work in concert and compliment each other to add real furniture to your writing.

Leave a Reply

